Tara Nurin Named 2012 Writer of the Year

Posted by Keith Wallace

Writer Of The Year 2012

The Contest

Epikur Writer of the Year is a new event that seeks to honor the best food and booze writing in Philadelphia.  It is to be an annual contest and is underwritten by the Wine School of Philadelphia.

The Winner

Tara Nurin, 2012 Epikur Writer of the Year

Tara Nurin is one of the most accomplished writers in the Philadelphia metropolis. An Emmy nominee and former TV reporter, Tara managed to bridge the gap from old-school journalism to modern food writing with panache. She is also one of the most prolific professional writers in Philly. She is currently a features writer for Foobooz,  a beer reviewer for Drink Philly, and a  correspondent for WHYY. She has also written for Philadelphia Magazine, Ale Street News, and the Courier-Post, among others.

The Votes

At Epikur Magazine, she  proved to be a readers’ favorite, as well.  1,633 readers cast their “Writer of the Year” vote for her.  It was a close call, though. The final vote tally saw 22,030 votes dispersed between twenty of  the city’s top writers. In the end, the top six writers  according to your votes:

1. Tara Nurin 1633 votes
2. Kaitlin Lunny 1490 votes
3. Michael Savett 1315 votes
4. Kate Marlys 1198 votes
5. Alexis Siemons 1129 votes
6. Melissa Ward 1102 votes

The Prize

As Writer of the Year, Tara receives a cache of prizes valued at over 2K dollars, including a case of luxury wines from Bacchus Selections, a seat in the Wine School of Philadelphia’s Professional CORE Program, and a sweet stack of benjamins to boot.

Second Prize  goes to Kaitlin Lunny,  a $150 gift certificate to the Wine School.

Third through Sixth Prizes (Michael Savett, Kate Marlys,  Alexis Siemons, amd Melissa Ward) are $75 gift certificates to the Wine School of Philadelphia.

Leave a Comment

Item added to cart.
0 items - $0.00