Gluten free

Closed
0
0

I am attending a class Sunday 3/20 and need to be gluten free – who do I contact about this?

  • You must to post comments
0
0

Beth,

I am assuming you are talking about the Wine & Cheese pairing class? If you have celiac disease, cheese is often considered ok to consume. However, cheese is often matured in a gluten base (especially cheese with rinds and/or blue) although studies have shown there is no transfer of gluten to the cheese.

Whether you consume cheese during the class is up to your discretion. The only issue would be the crackers. You would need to supply your own crackers to remain gluten free.

Wine is inherently gluten free, as it is made from grapes. However, there are two control points in the winemaking process where gluten may be introduced, although both seem to be rare instances in U.S.-made wines. The first is the practice of using a flour paste to seal oak barrels. Again, this seems to be a more common practice in Europe than in the U.S. The second is the practice of fining, which is done to clarify wine. Gluten can be used to fine wine, but more often a different protein is used. It seems that when gluten is used to clarify wine that it results in far less than the proposed safety threshold of 20 ppm.

For the most part, wine is generally safe for most celiacs to consume.

  • You must to post comments
Showing 1 result